Parliamentary Secretary of the Latvian Foreign Ministry takes part in an online ministerial meeting of the Council of the Baltic Sea States

01.06.2021. 16:17

On 1 June 2021, the Parliamentary Secretary of the Latvian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica, participated in an online Ministerial Meeting of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) organized by the Lithuanian Presidency. The meeting brought together the Foreign Ministers and High-Level Representatives of the CBSS as well as the Secretary General of the EU External Action Service.

The participants shared opinions on the Vilnius II Declaration developed during the Lithuanian presidency – “A Vision of the Baltic Sea Region by 2030” – and tasks that are to promote the region’s development as described in this document.

When evaluating the declaration, the Parliamentary Secretary noted that one of the main challenges for the regional cooperation at present is economic recovery, which would also help to achieve the set climate policy goals. She also underlined that “regional identity may be developed only on the basis of a common understanding of values that make the cornerstone of any democratic society”, and the declaration clearly highlights this as the mission for the coming decade.

During the meeting, the involvement of young people in the evaluation and resolving of issues important for the region was underlined in particular.

The participants approved the final declaration of the Lithuanian Presidency.

Background information

Lithuania holds the Presidency of the CBSS from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021, when the responsibility passes to Norway. The members of the Council of the Baltic Sea States are the three Baltic States, the five Nordic countries, as well as Russia, Poland, Germany, and the European Commission.

The CBSS was established in 1992.


Press Contacts:

Communications Group
Tel.: (+371) 67016 272
Fax: (+371) 67828 121
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow the Foreign Ministry:   twtr    icon-facebook    icon-flickr    ytb